Current page: > Facts about Åland > The Government of Åland

The Government of Åland

Click here to go to the sub menu

The Government

The Government of Åland, which may have up to eight members, is headed by the Chairman, lantrådet. The Government of Åland is appointed by the Parliament according to parliamentary principles after negotiations among the various political factions. The objective is to achieve a government which enjoys the support of as wide a majority as possible, but a minority government is also possible.


The Government of Åland is assisted by an administration. The administration mainly comprises the regional civil service and has six departments. The Government of Åland is responsible for all areas of government in which the Autonomy Act devolves authority to Åland. The regional government and civil service thus handle tasks which in other parts of Finland are handled by the Finnish Government, their ministries and various central government authorities.

The Government of Åland's entrance for visitors.
The page was last updated on 28.06.2013 kl 19:09