Current page: > Move to Åland > Åland basic facts > The municipalities

The municipalities

This section is available in multiple languages:
Click here to go to the sub menu

Åland is divided into 16 municipalities including Mariehamn, the only town on the islands. The municipalities have quite an extensive decision-making power and can be organised in different ways. According to current legislation the municipalities are responsible for, among other things, child care, primary education, care of the elderly, social services (such as child protection, service to persons with disabilities, care of persons with addiction, and some social benefits), libraries and culture. Basic services should be equal in all municipalities, but might be organised in different ways depending on where you live. The level of municipal taxes might also differ between the municipalities.

Municipal elections are held every four years.

For a list of Åland municipalities and more information, please click here.

The page was last updated on 28.06.2013 kl 19:26